Driver Introductions and the Bass Pro Shop NRA Night Race at Bristol Motor Speedway

Driver introductions at Bristol Motor Speedway are unique in that each driver gets to pick a walkout song as they enter The Last Great Colosseum. From country to rock to rap and even an ice cream truck song, the introductions for the 2016 Bass Pro Shops NRA Night Race did not disappoint.

Some of the highlights included Jeff Gordon’s return to Bristol, entering to “Show Me What You Got” by Jay-Z and Tony Stewart’s farewell salute to the fans at BMS with the tune of “Better Man” by Pearl Jam.

Matt DiBenedetto, who had his career-best finish of sixth at the Food City 500 in April, wore a blonde wig and proceeded to “Shake It Off”  to Taylor Swift as he was introduced to the crowd. Kyle Busch, always one of the most creative when it comes to driver intro songs, chose “My House” by Flo Rida and punctuated it with a deliberate mic drop as a warning that the race was his for the taking.

Fans got a taste of the Pilot Flying J Battle at Bristol during introductions. University of Tennessee fan Trevor Bayne sent the crowd into a frenzy as he chose “Rocky Top” by Tennessee’s Pride of the Southland Band. Ryan Blaney returned the favor for Virginia Tech as he championed the entrance song for Hokie football, “Enter Sandman” by Metallica. Blaney, who entered driver intros with the Hokie Bird, was sponsored by Virginia Tech for this race.

Here is the list of driver intro songs:

Josh Wise- “Narrow Mouth” by The Early November

Justin Allgaier- “Click, Click, Boom” by Saliva

Jeffrey Earnhardt- “Fishin in the Dark” by Nitty Gritty Dirt Band

David Ragan- “Ain’t No Going Down Till the Sun Comes” by Garth Brooks

Reed Sorenson- “Take A Little Ride” by Jason Aldean

Cole Whitt- “Thunderstuck” by AC DC

Greg Biffle- “Trap Queen” by Fetty Wap

Regan Smith- “State of My Head” by Shinedown

Landon Cassill- “Famous” by Kanye West

Clint Bowyer- “Born to Boogie” by Hank Williams Jr.

Brian Scott- “Jungle” by X Ambassadors

Danica Patrick- “Maneater” by Nelly Furtado

Jamie McMurray- “Kickstart My Heart” by Motley Crew

Tony Stewart- “Better Man” by Pearl Jam

Michael McDowell- “Ice Cream Truck Song” by Ice Cream Truck

Ricky Stenhouse Jr.- “Shameless” by Garth Brooks

Kevin Harvick- “Good Company” by Jake Owen

Kyle Larson- “Another Round” by Whitney Morgan & the 78’s

Trevor Bayne- “Rocky Top” Tennessee’s Pride of the Southland Band

Casey Mears- “No Sleep Till Brooklyn” by Beastie Boys

Paul Menard- “We Are An American Band” by Jackyl

Kasey Kahne- “Record Year” by Eric Church

Matt DiBenedetto- “Shake It Off” by Taylor Swift

Aric Almirola- “The Outsiders” by Erica Church

Jimmie Johnson- “Ain’t No Man” by the Avett Brothers

Ryan Newman- “Huntin, Fishin’, Lovin’ Every Day” by Luke Bryan

Kurt Busch- “Living on the Edge” by Aerosmith

Austin Dillon- “Country Grammar” by Nelly

Chris Buescher- “Bad Reputation” by Adelitas Way

Jeff Gordon- “Show Me What You Got” by Jay-Z

Joey Logano- “On The Road Again” by Willie Nelson

Brad Keselowski- “Tom Sawyer” by Rush

AJ Allmendinger- “Remember My Name” by Maino

Martin Truex Jr.- “Great Day to Be Alive” by Travis Tritt

Chase Elliott- “Lotta Boot Left to Fill” by Eric Church

Matt Kenseth- “Seal the Deal” by Volbeat

Ryan Blaney- “Enter Sandman” by Metallica

Kyle Busch- “Welcome to My House” by Flo Rida

Denny Hamlin- “All the Way Up” by Fat Joe

Carl Edwards- “The Weekend” by Brantley Gilbert


The Race

After an intense rain that drenched the track only 34 laps into the Bass Pro Shop NRA Night Race this past Saturday evening, officials re-scheduled the event for 1:00pm on Sunday afternoon. Unfortunately, and despite a weather radar that indicated clearer skies for Sunday, Mother Nature decided she wasn’t going to cooperate quite so easily and continued to pelt the track and the surrounding area for another 3+ hours past start time.  As time dragged on, fans slowly but surely dispersed, leaving behind only a dedicated few for when the clouds finally lifted.

At 4:40pm, thanks to the perseverance of air titans drying the track, the race was underway once again. The 500-lap spectacle saw a few surprise drivers all take their place among the Top 10 cars.  It also produced a grand total of 9 caution flags. On lap 373, leader Kurt Busch got loose causing the #3 car of Brad Keselowski to

On lap 373, leader Kurt Busch got loose in the turn, causing the #3 car of Brad Keselowski to plow into Busch’s driver’s side.  Joe Logano, who had been directly behind Busch in 2nd position, drove through unscathed and assumed the lead. However, a pit stop shortly thereafter would see a lug nut issue that would call Logano back to the pit, stealing his chance to remain up front. The dust-up between Keselowki and Kurt Busch came only moments after brother Kyle Busch spun out and was subsequently hit by Justin Allgaier.

Another rain delay, albeit a short one, led the cars down pit road while the air titans took to the track yet again in order to dry it up.  And shortly after the restart, Kevin Harvick took the lead and eventually won the race.  In a nod to his car owner and teammate, Tony Stewart, who will retire at the end of the 2016 season, Harvick invited Stewart for a victory burnout, to the delight of the crowd.

About Bristol Motor Speedway

Nestled in the mountains of northeast Tennessee near the Virginia state line, Bristol Motor Speedway is a 0.533-mile concrete oval race track with 28-degree corner banking, 650-feet straightaways and a 40-foot wide racing surface. Renowned as The World’s Fastest Half-Mile, the short track features two races each year from the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series and NASCARXFINITY Series, one Monster Truck event and one NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour and NASCAR K&N Pro Series-East race.

Share This Post:

2 thoughts on “Driver Introductions and the Bass Pro Shop NRA Night Race at Bristol Motor Speedway

  • October 8, 2016 at 12:55 pm

    Your info is extremely unique.

  • October 13, 2016 at 4:33 am

    Thanks – Enjoyed this post.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *